LibGuides: Social Studies: Supreme Court (AP GOV)

eReference Books

Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States
Call Number: eBook [GVRL]
ISBN: 9780028661247
Publication Date: 2008-10-24
Focuses on the substance of American law, the processes that produce its legal principles, and the history of the Supreme Court, from its creation to the present. Overview essays address the history of such topics as citizenship, due process, Native Americans, racism, and contraception, emphasizing the social context of each and the social and political pressures that shaped interpretation.
Constitutional Amendments: From Freedom of Speech to Flag Burning
Call Number: eBook [GVRL]
ISBN: 9781414422879
Publication Date: 2008
Provides the history and social context of the amendment process, covering each of the 27 amendments. Significant issues, events, figures, movements and judicial/legislative actions in the history of each amendment are also covered chronologically.

Print Books in the Library

Selected Books Available in the Library

Note : 347.73 is the Dewey Decimal Number for general Supreme Court Information. There are books in both the Non-Fiction and Reference sections (REF) with that call number. Remember: similar topics have similar numbers, so look around the area.

342.73 has books about specific cases, including the Landmark Supreme Court Cases series.

The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States by Kermit L. Hall (Editor); James W. Ely; Joel B. Grossman
Call Number: REF 347.73
ISBN: 0195176618
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
The Reference Shelf 2005 by Paul McCaffrey; Lynn Messina
Call Number: 347.73 MCC
ISBN: 0824210506
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Tinker v. Des Moines by Marcia Amidon Lusted; Gerald J. Thain
Call Number: 342.730 LUS
ISBN: 9781617834776
Publication Date: 2012-08-01
This is one example from the "Landmark Cases of the Supreme Court" series.

GALE databases for Supreme Court Research

Gale Databases for Supreme Court Research

EBSCO Databases for Social Studes

EBSCO History Reference Center

Supreme Court Web Resources

Supreme Court [Official Site]
Oyez
Oyez (pronounced OH-yay) is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone.
more...less...
a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law— It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955. Oyez offers transcript-synchronized and searchable audio, plain-English case summaries, illustrated decision information, and full-text Supreme Court opinions (through Justia). Oyez also provides detailed information on every justice throughout the Court’s history and offers a panoramic tour of the Supreme Court building, including the chambers of several justices.
Supreme Court DataBase [Washington University Law]
The Supreme Court Database is the definitive source for researchers, students, journalists, and citizens interested in the U.S. Supreme Court. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1791 and 2017 terms. Examples include the identity of the court whose decision the Supreme Court reviewed, the parties to the suit, the legal provisions considered in the case, and the votes of the Justices.
Selected Historic Decisions of the US Supreme Court [Cornell LII]
(pre-dating regular release of Court decisions to the Internet)
Supreme Court [Find Law]
FedWorld Supreme Court Information [National Technical Information Service]
Legal Information Institute, Cornell Law
Supreme Court Information.
Web Guide to U.S. Supreme Court Research [LLRX]
older web guide. Some sites may be out of date.