At Central Catholic High School, we use MLA 8th Edition for citations. Students are expected to properly cite sources any time they use the words, work, or ideas of another person in any work they create. Librarians are happy to assist all students with any citation questions. The Library heavily endorses the OSLIS Citation Maker for help formatting citations.
Reminders on Citations (in MLA Format)
Example of a possible citation.
Lastname, Firstname. “My Great Article.” Journal of Quality Things, photos by Arnie Toddlesworth, vol.1, no. 23, pp. 45-67. Super Useful Article Database, Subscribe Co., www.website.biz/junk/~netzel/ probablyabigmessofcharacters=+blerg+gross%7Csupergreat=/. Accessed 1 Mon. YEAR.
Lastname, Firstname. “My Great Article.” Journal of Quality Things, photos by Arnie Toddlesworth, vol.1, no. 23, pp. 45-67. Super Useful Article Database, Subscribe Co., www.website.biz/ junk/~netzel/ probablymessofcharacters=+blerg+gross%7Csupergreat=/. Accessed 1 Mon. YEAR.
If you use a citation maker, stick with the OSLIS citation maker.
Remember: You may have more than one "container"...
ex. an article [Source] is found in a journal [Container 1], which is found in a library database [Container 2].
In the example citation above Journal of Quality Things is the title of Container 1, and Super Useful Article Database is the title of Container 2. Note that each container can have it's own other information elements.
If you answered "Yes" then you put a PERIOD "."
In all other cases, use a COMMA ","
A Complete Citation has two parts:
If you have one with out the other, your citation is Incomplete (and thus not a Citation).
Paper (with Parenthetical Reference)
Means: The quotation or ideas in this sentence come from a source that is listed on my Works Cited page. You will find that work listed under "Dickinson" on my works cited page. I found the ideas or quotation on page 14 of that work.
Works Cited Entry
Means: I either directly quoted from, or used ideas from, this specific source by this author. You will find identification of where I used those ideas by looking for the first words in this entry within parentheses in my paper. ex: (Dickinson).
One bonus of Library databases is that they offer preformatted citations in MLA 8th edition format (and other formats).
These Pre-formatted citations are meant to be used as a guide, as they are rarely perfect, and are not meant to replace the need to understand how to read and create citations.
Here is an example of a preformatted "MLA 8th Edition" citation for an article from SIRS Issues Researcher:
Here's a Citation for the same article from GALE Opposing Viewpoints:
Both citations are "Pretty Good" citations, but neither one is totally correct.
Let's take a look. RED will mean things that are wrong, YELLOW will be things that we may consider changing, and GREEN are things that one database's citation has that the other one is missing.
The SIRS citation:
Note that this resource on SIRS changes the title of the Article, because the database is treating it as a reprint.
The GALE citation:
Here's Improved Versions of the Citation.
Reminder that our Academic Integrity Policy encompasses Generative AI usage. Any thing that would be an integrity violation if you asked a Human to do it for you, would also be one if you asked AI to do it. Use of any words or ideas that are not originally your own (which includes AI Generated material) without proper citation is considered plagiarism, which is an academic integrity violation.
in increasing order of importance.
like plagiarizing, or passing along bad information.
by showing you are well-read, providing expert support for your ideas, and proving your understanding of a topic.
by giving credit to hard working creators, and making their value known.
it is a valuable service for your Reader to help them learn more, go deeper, make their own conclusions, and understand your process.
Here are a series of YouTube Videos Mr. Netzel put together to help explain some of the information on this page.