LibGuides: Social Studies: Indigenous History (US History)

Books in the Library

Indigenous History and Culture - Resource List
A Resource List in the Library Catalog

Physical Print Books

Atlas of Indian Nations by Anton Treuer
Call Number: 970.004 TRE
ISBN: 9781426211607
Publication Date: 2014-10-07

eBooks Online

U-X-L Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes by Gale
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9781414490922
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
eBook series via GALE. Password needed for home use.

Search The Catalog

Find:

Advanced Search

Direct Links to Research Database Pages

Native Americans - Sub Topics [GALE US History in Context]
A list of topic pages on Native American history in the Gale database. Password required from home.
Native Americans [Britannica]
A general encyclopedia article, with a table of contents grouped by region, and links to pages for individual nations.
Native Americans - History, Traditions, and Culture [ProQuest eLibrary]
requires password for home use.

Library Databases - Additional Search Resources

Search Suggestions: "indigenous", the name of the people or tribe you are studying.

EBSCO History Reference Center

Also search eLibrary for individual colonies.

Websites

Directories of Modern Peoples

Tribal Directory [National Congress of American Indians]
Search by region, keyword, or browse alphabetically.
Federally Recognized Tribes (search) [Bureau of Indian Affairs]
Association on American Indian Affairs [Indian-affairs.org]
Federally Recognized Indian Tribes and Resources for Native Americans [USA.gov]

Maps

Native Land (interactive map) shows coverage of native land by nation, language, and treaty.
more...less...
We strive to map Indigenous lands in a way that changes, challenges, and improves the way people see history and the present day. We hope to strengthen the spiritual bonds that people have with the land, its people, and its meaning.
Tribal Nations Maps [Data.gov]

Other

National Museum of the American Indian [Smithsonian]
Indigenous Heritage Featured Places [National Parks Service]
List of places commemorating America's multi-faceted history
Native American Heritage Month
Has extensive lists of websites and virtual exhibits. Links to museums and galleries that may prove useful in finding images for slides.
Indians of North America: Selected Resources [ Library of Congress]
Native Languages of the Americas: Preserving and promoting American Indian languages
amateur non-profit site with an extensive list of links based around native languages and cultures of the Americas.
Useful Websites [UCLA American Indian Studies Center]
categorized lists of useful websites. Some may be out of date.

Wikipedia

A great place to start, but not your final destination...

Indigenous Peoples of the Americas [wikipedia]
Reminder: Wikipedia articles themselves are not cite-worthy, however, this article lists almost 300 citations, and those may be worth following.
List of Indigenous Peoples of the Americas [wikipedia]
See previous disclaimer on Wikipedia as a cite-worthy source.

Region Specific Resources

Regional and Nation specific resources.

Peoples marked with an asterisk * have individual pages on Britannica.

Regional Profiles [NCAI]
Infinity of Nations: Art and History in the Collections of the NMAI [Smithsonian]
images and information about cultural artifacts, categorized by region.
Native Cultures of Western North America [Arizona Museum of Natural History]
Museum exhibit, with subsections for each region

Northwest Coast

Haida* -- Chinook* -- Kwakiutl* -- Makah -- Nuu-Chah-Nulth (Nootka)* -- Tlingit -- Coos -- Lower Umpqua -- Siuslaw -- Siletz

Northwest Coast Indian [Britannica]
Regional Survey - Northwest [NCAI]
PDF of current data.

California

Yurok* -- Hoopa* -- Chumash -- Pomo* -- Maidu* (Estom Yumeka Tribe) -- Maidu* (Concow) -- Yocha Dehe Wintun (Patwin)

California Indian [Britannica]
California Native Americans [California Native American Heritage Commission]
see also: Resources>California Indian History
Regional Survey - Pacifc [NCAI]
PDF of data on current region

Southwest

Apache* -- Navajo* -- Pueblo* -- Zuni* -- Hopi* -- Mojave* -- Tohono O’odham*

Southwest Indian [Britannica]
Regional Survey - Southwest (NM & CO)[NCAI]
PDF of data on modern region.

Plateau

Kootenai* -- Cayuse -- Klamath* -- Nez Perce* -- Umatilla -- Wallawalla -- Yakima* -- Coeur D’Alene -- Flathead*/Salish/Kootenai -- Kalispel -- Spokane

Great Basin

Bannock* -- Shoshone* -- Ute (Bishop Tribe)*

Great Basin Indian [Britannica]
Great Basin Indian Archives [Great Basin U]
Regional Survey - Western (AZ, NV, UT) [NCAI]
PDF of data on modern region

Great Plains

Cheyenne/Arapaho; Northern Arapaho Tribe* -- Blackfeet*

Encyclopedia of the Great Plains -- Native Americans [U Nebraska Lincoln]
Plains Indian [Britannica]
Regional Survey [NCAI]
PDF of data on modern region.