Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
DISCLAIMER: These resources are provided for research and study purposes and not mean to diagnose or treat any ailment. If you find yourself in need of Mental Health Care, please seek out help immediately.
Search the Library Databases
Two databases containing articles from magazines, academic journals, and more, as well as a specially selected collection of eBooks.
Ebsco Psychology Collection
Primarily Academic Journals and other Periodical Articles.
Library Database Resources
Library Databases offer high quality, sourced, information.
Reminder: off-campus passwords are on your Utility Period Canvas Page. Some have changed since last year.
Websites and Organizations
Hover over the black "i" icon for more information about a site.
Note: The reports and data that you find on .gov websites is pretty trustworthy, however, the content visible on government sites can be subject to the whim of the administration.
Psychiatry & Mental Health Organizations
BEWARE of website-length advertisements for specific treatments, treatment centers, or programs. While these could have good information, it is better to track that information to its original source.
BEWARE of sites and posts attempting to prey on the vulnerable. There's nothing stopping people from trying to take advantage of people dealing with mental health issues online.
Disorder Specific Sites and Foundations
Note: Not all non-profit (.org) sites are created equally. ".org" only means the site owners are, traditionally, not a profit-based company, it is not an indicator of credibility. Use the databases and NIH/NIMH/NINDS/SAMHA/APA sources first.
As you are evaluating the information a foundation selects to appear on its site, be diligent in looking for information about the various "Foundations" outside of the organization's page:
- Foundations can have a bias or slant as to which treatments, causes, etc. for the disorder they represent, and this may affect what data they share and how they choose to share it.
- Check to see who or what provides funding for non-profits: (ads? corporate donations? donations from people?)
- What do other reputable organizations say about the foundation?
Books in the Library
See Dewey number 616.8 for even more books on Mental Health topics.
(Don't) Call Me Crazy by
Call Number: 616.89 DON
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
"An anthology of essays and illustrations that illuminate mental health topics in a straightforward way"
50 Great Myths of Popular Psychology by
Call Number: 150 LIL
Publication Date: 2009-09-28
On a Scale of One to Ten by
Call Number: FIC SCO
Publication Date: 2019-05-14
Furiously Happy by
Call Number: 070.92 LAW
Publication Date: 2015-09-22
One Flew over the Cuckoo's Nest by
Call Number: FIC KES
Publication Date: 1963-02-01