Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are on CANVAS.
They are on your Utility-Period page. Click on the "Library Resources" link there.
CLICK HERE, to go to CANVAS They are not posted directly on this page. You must Log-in to CANVAS.
What are Library Databases, and Why should you use them?
Library Databases are subscription collections (i.e. things that we pay to access) of research sources including: Periodical (Magazine, Newspaper, Trade Journal, Scholarly Journal) articles, electronic Reference Books, Images, Videos, Primary Documents and more.
So why do we pay for them when Google and the Web exist?
- The vast majority of their content is NOT freely available elsewhere. You can't find it on the web
- All of the content comes from known, reputable, sources. While you still need to evaluate what you read based on currency, bias, audience, purpose, type, etc. You will always be able to identify the original source. None of it is Fake, or intentionally misleading for economic or political gain. All of it has been through some sort of editorial process or oversight.
- They offer additional features that add value to the information including citation help, intentional selection and grouping of sources by topic, links to more related resources, easy google-drive access, powerful advanced search filtering, etc.
PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are on this secure Google Doc
3 Tips for Using Databases Well
- Look at all of the features. They aren't just there to fill space. Most Databases have similar features, but may put them in a different place on the page, or call them something different.
- Are there options to "Save", "Email", or "Upload to "Drive"?
- Does it give you pre-formatted citations for articles? (if so, are they accurate?!)
- Is there a list of specific publications that are in the database?
- Does it give you options to filter results
- Use the ADVANCED SEARCH. This isn't google's one-search-box solution. You can to more powerful searches by being specific about what you want to search for, and where you want to search in the document, etc.
- ALSO: Use filters to check narrow down your search results
- Make use of the database's "search suggestions"
- Use Good Search Strategies. Databases are a powerful tool, but they're only powerful if you use them well, the same strategies that fuel good Internet searches, work in databases.
- Use multiple search terms. Don't just search on your focus, search AROUND it as well.
- Understand what kinds of sources you are finding, and what kind you are looking for.
PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are on CANVAS
WHY USE GALE? Gale has "Gale Literary Sources" which searches an extensive eReference collection as well as the "Literature Resource Center". These are the best sources of Literary Criticism and Literary Journals that we have. You may also need to search for thematic or topical material if you are relating your primary sources to any non-literary concepts. Gale has strong databases and eReference books in: Science, US History, Current Events & Global Issues, and more...
Best Bets for Honors Literary Criticism
Although this is a Literary Criticism essay, you may still need to use research from other fields (history, psychology, political science, etc.), and thus other databases, for contextual purposes.
Bloom's Criticism - Infobase
Why Use Bloom's / Infobase?: There are 31 eBooks of Bloom's Literary Criticism, specifically purchased for authors and works commonly studied for Thesis.
Literary Reference Center This link opens in a new window
an Excellent Resource for information (including Criticism) on all aspects of Literature.
WHY USE EBSCO DATABASES? Literary Reference Center is of comparable quality and use to Gale's Literature Resource Center. Also:Ebsco has our largest collection of Scholarly/Academic Journals, Popular Magazines, and Newspapers, which may be useful for going beyond your author's works, or for establishing historical context for your sources.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including full text for nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.
History Reference Center This link opens in a new window MasterFile Premier This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals with full-text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window
a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
Salem Press eBooks
Salem Press provides searchable digital reference books. Primarily Literary Criticism on specific topics or authors specifically selected for Honors Thesis.
Britannica Online - Encyclopedia
WHY USE BRITANNICA? To get background information and fuel better searches.
NOTE FOR THESIS WRITERS:
Britannica is an Encyclopedia, a tertiary source, that is useful for gaining background knowledge and understanding, but not worth citing in an academic paper.
Britannica Online This link opens in a new window
Britannica School is the go-to site for learning more about any subject—for all grades and all reading abilities—offering thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate databases—Elementary, Middle, or High.