Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
GALE Opposing Viewpoints
See the List of All Topics to get ideas for where robotics and technology may intersect with current issues, including
Gale - Science in Context
Science in Context
provides contextual information on hundreds of today's most significant science topics & millions of full-text articles from national and global publications.
Science Reference Center (EBSCO)
Books and eBooks
Encyclopedia of Science Technology and Ethics by
Call Number: eBook
Publication Date: 2014-08-25
This work considers both the professional ethics of science and technology, and the ethical and political issues raised by science and technology in an increasingly complex and global society. This broad coverage supports the numerous courses in applied and professional ethics and policy related to the practice of science and technology in education, including new analytical and interpretive essays on events, scholarship, people, and legal decisions.
Robot Visions by
Call Number: FIC ASI
Publication Date: 1991-03-05
Contains the short story "Runaround" and many other stories about Asimov's laws.
Wired for War by
Call Number: 355.02 SIN
Publication Date: 2009-01-22
Technically Wrong by
Call Number: 303.48 WAC
Publication Date: 2017-10-10
"Buying groceries, tracking our health, finding a date: whatever we want to do, odds are that we can now do it online. But few of us ask why all these digital products are designed the way they are. It's time we change that. Many of the services we rely on are full of oversights, biases, and downright ethical nightmares ... takes an unflinching look at the values, processes, and assumptions that lead to these and other problems."
These are Journal Articles or other quality publications that are available freely online.
Many were found using a Google Scholar search for "Ethics and Robotics in AI". Note that many articles identified by a Google Scholar search may not be available for free. While some are, you may need to check our Library databases, Public Library databases, or possibly College or University databases (try a visit to PSU) to find access to the article.
Robots and responsibility from a legal perspective
P. Asaro - Proceedings of the IEEE, 2007 - peterasaro.org, PDF.
What is Computer Ethics?
JH Moor - Metaphilosophy, 1985 [PDF]
Ethics of Artificial Intelligence
S Russell, S Hauert, R Altman, M Veloso - Nature, 2015 [PDF]
Artificial Intelligence Safety Engineering: Why Machine Ethics Is a Wrong Approach
RV Yampolskiy - Philosophy and theory of artificial intelligence, 2013 - Springer [PDF]
Beyond Asimov: The Three Laws of Responsible Robotics
R Murphy, DD Woods - IEEE Intelligent Systems, 2009 - ieeexplore.ieee.org [PDF]
Codes of Ethics
Finding Other "Codes of Ethics"