Skip to main content

World History - 9th: Trade Routes / Google Earth

Guides for 9th Grade World History

Assignment Background Information.

Library Database Resources for Researching Your Routes and Empires

Library Research Databases are subscription collections of materials of a wide variety of types: 

  • Articles from Periodicals (Magazines, Newspapers, Academic Journals), and
  • Reference Books (Encyclopedias, Almanacs, etc), as well as
  • other kinds of content (photos, links, primary source documents, maps etc)

... that are generally NOT available for free online. You have access to them at school and at home, but at home you will need a username and password (which you can find on CANVAS).

Below you will find links to a few of the databases that will be useful for this project.

eLibrary (ProQuest)

 

 


 

GALE Virtual Reference Books (Print Sources in Digital Form)

Search a curated collection of books for 9th-grade History, or search across all Virtual Reference Books)

EBSCO: History Reference Center


History Reference Center collects full-text articles from Magazines, Academic Journals, Reference Books and more. (you may want to limit your search to Reference Sources... how would you do that?)

History Reference Center
 

Additional Sources

Google Earth Tips and Tricks

NOTE:  Google Earth Pro (a free desk-top program DOWNLOAD HERE) has more features than the "App" version (on the web or mobile).

You will need to use Google Earth Pro to - create and edit overlays, points, routes, etc. to make  .KMZ and .KML files.

 Create a FOLDER 

1. In Google Earth Pro...On the top Menu select “Add” and choose “Folder”  (or right-click "My Places" and Add a Folder)

2. Name your folder with a descriptive name.  Click “Okay”. Folder should appear under “My Places” in the “Places” Menu on the left.

3. Drag and drop any Placemarks, Polygons, Paths, etc. that you create  onto the folder.

4. See instructions below on how to Save and Share your folder to use on other computers.

 

 

Add a Shape

1. Navigate so you can see the full area you want to draw on.

2. Select the blue hexagon Icon from the tool bar. This starts the drawing

3. Either hold the mouse-button down to draw free-hand, or click, move, and click again to do point-to point.

4. Name your shape. Adjust Fill, Color, Opacity, and other features.

5. Right-click the icon and select “Properties” to edit this Placemark. Each individual “dot” can be moved. (Point-to-Point is easier to adjust in this case).

 

 Add a Placemark (Pin)

1. Click on the point you want to mark.

2. Select the yellow "Pushpin" Icon from the tool bar. This will add a placemark.

3. Name your Placemark.   Add Descriptions, links, images, alter the Icon, change text size and color etc. and Hit “Okay”.

4. You should see  your Placemark  under “Temporary Places” in the “Places” Menu on the left. Move it to the Folder you created in  “My Places.”

5. To Edit or Change it: Right-click the icon and select “Properties” to edit this Placemark.

 

SHARE / SAVE your Google Earth Folder as a .KML or .KMZ file.

You will be "Saving" your work in Google Earth Pro by "Sharing" it with yourself, and others, via email.

1. Login (upper right  corner of Google Earth Pro) to Google Earth Pro with your Google Account.

2. Right-Click on the the folder that contains your project information and click "email" on the men that appears.

3. Select "Gmail" --  Enter your email address and the address of any other recipients.  Add a message or description and hit “Send.”  This will send a .KMZ or .KML file to those people (KML is just the name for "Map Instructions that Google Earth Can Read" files)

(Note: Use The Method above to email your projects. There are other ways, but you may accidentally just send a screenshot or the current location instead of your "Folder or Placemark").

WORKING WITH YOUR FOLDER on another computer.

Unlike other Google-y things,  what you do on one computer in Google Earth Pro (even if you are logged in) is not available on another computer. You have to send the file back and forth.

1. Go to your email and find the email that you sent from Google Earth.

2. Download the .KMZ file you made to the computer you are working on (not a bad idea to also put it in your Google Drive too)

3. Find the file you downloaded and click to open it (in Chrome, there should be a link on the bottom of your browser.  it is helpful to click the "^" arrow and select "Show in Folder")

4. Your file should open in Google Earth Pro if it is on the computer.

5.  Notice that it opens in the "Temporary Places" menu in G.E.P and has a weird name?  Click the arrow and you will see your folder.  Drag it to "My Places".

6.  Make any changes or adjustments. When you are finished working on it for the time being, go back to the instructions for how to SHARE your file above.

 

HOW TO TURN YOUR "FOLDER" IN TO CANVAS

1. Download the emailed KMZ file into your school google drive.
2. Enter the Canvas assignment and click "Submit assignment".
3. Click on google drive and upload  your  "My Favorite Vacation" folder into the assignment.
4. Press submit.

 Navigation Tricks for Google Earth Pro 

(experiment with multi-touch on mobile devices)

"R": resets the view to being directly above (U) and oriented North (N)

Page Up/Down (or Scroll Wheel):  Zoom In/Out

CTRL + Arrows (or Mouse):  Rotates your perspective (camera)

SHIFT + Arrows (or Mouse): Rotate around a point on the ground

For a cleaner view: Un-check different options in the “Layers”  menu on the left.

Use the “view” menu on the top menu to add a distance scale, lat/long & more

 

Citation Reminders

MLA 8 Elements

Reminders on Citations (in MLA Format)

Example of a possible citation.

Lastname, Firstname. “My Great Article.” Journal of Quality Things, photos by Arnie Toddlesworth, vol.1, no. 23, pp. 45-67. Super Useful Article Database, Subscribe Co., www.website.biz/junk/~netzel/ probablyabigmessofcharacters=+blerg+gross%7Csupergreat=/.  Accessed 1 Mon. YEAR.

 

Lastname, Firstname. “My Great Article.” Journal of Quality Things, photos by Arnie Toddlesworth, vol.1, no. 23, pp. 45-67. Super Useful Article Database, Subscribe Co., www.website.biz/ junk/~netzel/ probablymessofcharacters=+blerg+gross%7Csupergreat=/.   Accessed 1 Mon. YEAR.

If you use a citation maker, stick with the OSLIS citation maker.

 

Remember: You may have more than one "container"...
ex. an article [Source] is found in a journal [Container 1], which is found  in a library database [Container 2].

In the example citation above Journal of Quality Things is the title of Container 1, and Super Useful Article Database is the title of Container 2.  Note that each container can have it's own other information elements.