Skip to main content

World History - 9th: Citations & Plagiarism

Guides for 9th Grade World History

About Citing Sources

At Central Catholic High School, we use MLA 8th Edition for citations.  Students are expected to properly cite sources any time they use the words, work, or ideas of another person in any work they create.  Librarians are happy to assist all students with any citation questions. The Library heavily endorses the OSLIS Citation Maker for help formatting citations.

Citation Reminders

Basic Template

Author. “Title of Source.” Title of Container, other contributors, version, number, Publisher, publication date, location. Optional elements.
  • Arrange list alphabetically by the first element listed (usually "Author", but sometimes "Title of Source".
  • Use a  .5 inch "hanging indent" (the first line sticks out, the rest are indented 1/2 inch).
  • Delete elements that don't exist in your source.
MLA 8 Elements

Reminders on Citations (in MLA Format)

Example of a possible citation.

Lastname, Firstname. “My Great Article.” Journal of Quality Things, photos by Arnie Toddlesworth, vol.1, no. 33, pp. 45-49. Super Useful Article Database, Subscribe Co., www.website.biz/junk/~netzel/ probablyabigmessofcharacters=+blerg+gross%7Csupergreat=/.  Accessed 1 Mon. YEAR.

 

Lastname, Firstname. “My Great Article.” Journal of Quality Things, photos by Arnie Toddlesworth, vol.1, no. 33, pp. 45-49. Super Useful Article Database, Subscribe Co.,www.website.biz/ junk/~netzel/ probablymessofcharacters=+blerg+gross%7Csupergreat=/.   Accessed 1 Mon. YEAR.

If you use a citation maker, stick with the OSLIS citation maker.

Remember: You may have more than one "container" (an article is "contained" in a journal, which is "contained" in a database).

 

Example: A Book

Budhos, Marina. Watched. Random House, 2016.
Author. Title of Source. Title of Container, other Contributors, version, number, publisher, pub. date, location. Additional.
Budhos, Marina. Watched.         Random House, 2016.    
    (the title of the source is the same as the container)              

Example: A web page or article on a web site

Kielty, Eugene, and Lori Robertson. "How to Spot Fake News." FactCheck.org, 18 Nov. 2016, www.factcheck.org/2016/11/how-to-spot-fake-news. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Author. Title of Source. Title of Container, other Contributors, version, number, publisher, pub. date, location. Additional.
Kielty, Eugene and Lori Robertson. "How to Spot Fake News." FactCheck.org         18 Nov. 2016, www.factcheck.org/2016/11/how-to-spot-fake-news. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
(not all webpages have authors. This one had two)   (Web Sites contain many pages or articles)           (usually the URL, minus the "http://". It is not a "Link") The date you last looked at it.

Example: Content from a Source  in a Database (Two "Containers")

In this case, an article originally in a magazine, but found in a library database.

Frazier, Kendrick. "Who Really Wants Reliable Scientific Information?" Skeptical Inquirer, vol. 35, no. 5, Sept.-Oct. 2011, p 4+. General OneFile, Gale Document ID A 265486009. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
Author. Title of Source. Title of Container, other Contributors, version, number, publisher, pub. date, location. Additional.
Frazier, Kendrick. "Who Really Wants Reliable Scientific Information?" Skeptical Inquirer,     vol. 35, no. 5,   Sept.-Oct. 2011, p. 4+.  
    (this is the 1st "container")              
    General OneFile,           Gale Document ID A265486009. Accessed 26 Jan. 2017.
    (this is the 2nd container: a database that "contains" the magazine)           (this is the location in the database) (this is the date you last viewed it online)

OSLIS Citation Maker

Other Citation / MLA Help