Skip to Main Content

Science: Home

Resources, including specific assignment resources, for the Sciences.

Gale Databases for Science

Digital Reference Books

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) contains 28 Reference Books related to Scientific Topics.

Specialty Science Databases

Environmental Science

 

Health & Wellness (Nutrition, Biology)

Psychology

Science Reference Center (EBSCO)

Research databases
Limit Your Results

Britannica Online - Encyclopedia

All Ebsco

 

eLibrary

eLibrary is not strictly a science database, but it can have good general information on science topics.

Proquest eLibrary

Other Libraries

Periodic Table of Elements

APA Citation Maker [OSLIS]

OSLIS APA Citation Maker

NOTE:  We teach and provide support for MLA 8th edition citation format in order to provide consistency and to focus on the importance of providing citations.   Rather than teach multiple citation types and styles, we focus on doing one well, while also teaching that understanding How one citation style works provides clues on how others work.  However, it is important to be aware of how other citation types work, and students bound for collegiate sciences will eventually learn APA citation style.

Science in the Library Print Collection

Dewey Decimal Decades, with selected sub categories.
  • 500 Science- General
  • 510 Mathematics
  • 520 Astronomy
  • 530 Physics
    • 530 Physics
    • 531 Classical mechanics
    • 532 Fluid mechanics
    • 533 Pneumatics (Gas mechanics)
    • 534 Sound and related vibrations
    • 535 Light and related radiation
    • 536 Heat
    • 537 Electricity and electronics
    • 538 Magnetism
    • 539 Modern physics
  • 540 Chemistry
    • 540 Chemistry and allied sciences
    • 541 Physical chemistry
    • 542 Techniques, procedures, apparatus, equipment, materials
    • 543 Analytical chemistry
    • 546 Inorganic chemistry
    • 547 Organic chemistry
  • 550 Earth sciences and geology
    • 550 Earth sciences
    • 551 Geology, hydrology, meteorology
    • 552 Petrology
    • 553 Economic geology
    • 554 - 59 Earth Sciences by Region
  • 560 Fossils and prehistoric life
  • 570 Biology
    • 570 Biology
    • 571 Physiology and related subjects
    • 572 Biochemistry
    • 573 Specific physiological systems in animals, regional histology and physiology in animals
    • 575 Specific parts of and physiological systems in plants
    • 576 Genetics and evolution
    • 577 Ecology
    • 578 Natural history of organisms and related subjects
    • 579 Natural history of microorganisms, fungi, algae
  • 580 Plants
  • 590 Animals (Zoology)
    • 590 Animals
    • 591 Specific topics in natural history of animals
    • 592 Invertebrates
    • 593 Miscellaneous marine and seashore invertebrates
    • 594 Mollusca and Molluscoidea
    • 595 Arthropoda
    • 596 Chordata
    • 597 Cold-blooded vertebrates
    • 598 Aves (Birds)
    • 599 Mammalia (Mammals)
  • 600 Technology
    • 600 Technology (Applied sciences)
    • 601 Philosophy and theory
  • 610 Medicine and health
    • 610 Medicine and health
    • 611 Human anatomy, cytology, histology
    • 612 Human physiology
    • 613 Personal health and safety
    • 614 Forensic medicine; incidence of injuries, wounds, disease; public preventive medicine
    • 615 Pharmacology and therapeutics
    • 616 Diseases
  • 620 Engineering
    • 620 Engineering and applied operations
    • 621 Applied physics
    • 622 Mining and related operations
    • 623 Military and nautical engineering
    • 624 Civil engineering
    • 625 Engineering of railroads, roads
    • 627 Hydraulic engineering
    • 628 Sanitary engineering
    • 629 Other branches of engineering
  • 630 Agriculture
    • 636 Animal Husbandry (Domesticated Animals like Dogs, Cats, Horses, etc)
  • 640 Home and family management
    • 641 Food and drink
    • 646 Sewing, clothing, management of personal and family life
  • 650 Management and public relations
    • 657 Accounting
    • 659 Advertising and public relations
  • 660 Chemical engineering
    • 663 Beverage technology
    • 664 Food technology
    • 666 Ceramic and allied technologies
  • 670 Manufacturing
  • 680 Manufacture for specific uses
    • 680 Manufacture of products for specific uses
    • 686 Printing and related activities
    • 687 Clothing and accessories
  • 690 Construction of buildings

Database Information

PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are in a Google Doc : 

Click Here for Library Database Passwords. You will need to be logged in to your CCHS email/google account to access the passwords.

NOTE: Some Passwords change yearly.

What are Library Databases, and Why should you use them?

Library Databases are subscription collections  (i.e. things that we pay to access) of research sources including: Periodical (Magazine, Newspaper, Trade Journal, Scholarly Journal) articles, electronic Reference Books,  Images, Videos, Primary Documents and more.

So why do we pay for them when Google and the Web exist?

  1. The vast majority of their content is NOT freely available elsewhere.  You can't find it on the web
  2. All of the content comes from known, reputable, sources.  While you still need to evaluate what you read based on currency, bias, audience, purpose, type, etc.  You will always be able to identify the original source.  None of it is Fake, or intentionally misleading for economic or political gain. All of it has been through some sort of editorial process or oversight.
  3. They offer additional features  that add value to the information including citation help, intentional selection and grouping of sources by topic, links to more related resources, easy google-drive access, powerful advanced search filtering, etc.

3 Tips for Using Databases Well

  1. Look at all of the features.  They aren't just there to fill space. Most Databases have similar features, but may put them in a different place on the page, or call them something different.
    • ​​Are there options to "Save", "Email", or "Upload to "Drive"?
    • Does it give you pre-formatted citations for articles? (if so, are they accurate?!)
    • Is there a list of specific publications that are in the database?
    • Does it give you options to filter results
  2. Use the ADVANCED SEARCH. This isn't google's one-search-box solution. You can to more powerful searches by being specific about what you want to search for, and where you want to search in the document, etc.
    • ALSO: Use filters to check narrow down your search results
    • Make use of the database's "search suggestions"
  3. Use Good Search Strategies.  Databases are a powerful tool, but they're only powerful if you use them well, the same strategies  that fuel good Internet searches, work in databases.
    • Use multiple search terms.  Don't just search on your focus, search AROUND it as well.
    • Understand what kinds of sources you are finding, and what kind you are looking for.
    • Re-Search.  

PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are on a secure Google Document Here

If you have problems with a database log-in from home, here are some tips to help you trouble-shoot on your own (which is an excellent skill for college and life).

  • double check the password  you are using.  Some passwords have to change from year to year. Remember: they are on a Google Doc.
  • try a different browser (FireFox, Chrome, Edge, Safari, etc.), or clearing your 'cookies' or 'cache'.
  • are you using a "search widget" (i.e. directly searching from a search box on a libguides page)?  Sometimes those don't work like we want them to, so try going directly to the database first, which should ask for a password, and then searching from there.
  • are you using a URL you copy-pasted while at school?  If so, try going to the database first, which should ask for a password, and then using details from the citation  you made for the article (title, author, source, container, etc) to re-find the article. (you did make a citation first, right?)
  • Make sure you're starting in the right place: the CCHS Library Website.  Googling for "Gale" or "Ebsco" or "SIRS" might not get you where you need to be.

After you've tried some of these options, if you are still having trouble...

Contact your Librarian. On any "Digital Learning Days" the Central Catholic High School Librarian will be reachable via email.  When you contact the librarian, please include the following information...

  • What database you tried to use
  • Where you found the password
  • How you tried to get to that database (a URL link is helpful)
  • What troubleshooting methods you have already tried.

CLICK HERE, or use the Link below to find the passwords. They are not posted directly on this page. You must  be Log-in to your CCHS email/gmail to access the Google Doc with the Passwords.