Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: Psychological Differences and Disorders

Resources for Psychology and AP Psychology

Psychology: Disorders, Differences, and the DSM V

Resources for  "Disorders & Differences Psychology Project"

Use the following search boxes to directly search library databases for articles from magazines and scholarly journals. Browse other databases  for additional content.  Use links to government and non-profit websites for additional information (note: be careful with non-profit websites, and any other open-web searches).

You will find reminders on MLA 8th edition under the "Citations & Plagiarism" Tab on this Site. (and remember, you should be properly citing everything you use, any time you do research for any class).

Search the Library Databases

Gale Resources

Two databases containing articles from magazines, academic journals, and more, as well as a specially selected collection of eBooks.

GALE DATABASES

Ebsco Psychology Collection

Primarily Academic Journals and other Periodical Articles.

Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Limit Your Results

Proquest eLibrary

Search The Catalog

Find:
Search Titles Search Authors Search Subjects Search Keywords Search Series
Advanced Search

GALE eReference

Selected Websites

Hover over the black "i"  icon for more information about a site.

Government Sites

Psychiatry & Mental Health Organizations

Disorder Specific Sites and Foundations

Note: Not all non-profit (.org) sites are created equally. ".org"  only means the site owners are, traditionally, not a profit-based company, it is not an indicator of credibility. Use the databases and NIH/NIMH/NINDS/SAMHA/APA sources first.

As you are evaluating the information a foundation selects to appear on its site, be diligent in looking for information about the various "Foundations" outside of the organization's page: 

  • Foundations can have a bias or slant as to which treatments, causes, etc. for the disorder they represent, and this may affect what data they share and how they choose to share it. 
  • Check to see who or what provides funding for non-profits:  (ads? corporate donations? donations from people?)
  • What do other reputable organizations say about the foundation?

Database Tips and Links

General Reminders

Passwords for home database use are available on Canvas on your Utility Period class page.

Notice and Use features: “Advanced Search”, saving an article to Google Drive, citation suggestions, etc.

Note the type of source: files in databases could be articles from reference books, print books, magazines, or scholarly research journals, or be created for the database.

Books in the Library

Database Information

PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are in a Google Doc 

Click Here for Library Database Passwords. You will need to be logged in to your CCHS email/google account to access the passwords.

NOTE: Some Passwords change yearly.

What are Library Databases, and Why should you use them?

Library Databases are subscription collections  (i.e. things that we pay to access) of research sources including: Periodical (Magazine, Newspaper, Trade Journal, Scholarly Journal) articles, electronic Reference Books,  Images, Videos, Primary Documents and more.

So why do we pay for them when Google and the Web exist?

  1. The vast majority of their content is NOT freely available elsewhere.  You can't find it on the web
  2. All of the content comes from known, reputable, sources.  While you still need to evaluate what you read based on currency, bias, audience, purpose, type, etc.  You will always be able to identify the original source.  None of it is Fake, or intentionally misleading for economic or political gain. All of it has been through some sort of editorial process or oversight.
  3. They offer additional features  that add value to the information including citation help, intentional selection and grouping of sources by topic, links to more related resources, easy google-drive access, powerful advanced search filtering, etc.

3 Tips for Using Databases Well

  1. Look at all of the features.  They aren't just there to fill space. Most Databases have similar features, but may put them in a different place on the page, or call them something different.
    • ​Are there options to "Save", "Email", or "Upload to "Drive"?
    • Does it give you pre-formatted citations for articles? (if so, are they accurate?!)
    • Is there a list of specific publications that are in the database?
    • Does it give you options to filter results
  2. Use the ADVANCED SEARCH. This isn't google's one-search-box solution. You can to more powerful searches by being specific about what you want to search for, and where you want to search in the document, etc.
    • ALSO: Use filters to check narrow down your search results
    • Make use of the database's "search suggestions"
  3. Use Good Search Strategies.  Databases are a powerful tool, but they're only powerful if you use them well, the same strategies  that fuel good Internet searches, work in databases.
    • Use multiple search terms.  Don't just search on your focus, search AROUND it as well.
    • Understand what kinds of sources you are finding, and what kind you are looking for.
    • Re-Search.  

PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are on a secure Google Document Here

If you have problems with a database log-in from home, here are some tips to help you trouble-shoot on your own (which is an excellent skill for college and life).

  • double check the password  you are using.  Some passwords have to change from year to year. Remember: they are on a Google Doc.
  • try a different browser (FireFox, Chrome, Edge, Safari, etc.), or clearing your 'cookies' or 'cache'.
  • are you using a "search widget" (i.e. directly searching from a search box on a libguides page)?  Sometimes those don't work like we want them to, so try going directly to the database first, which should ask for a password, and then searching from there.
  • are you using a URL you copy-pasted while at school?  If so, try going to the database first, which should ask for a password, and then using details from the citation  you made for the article (title, author, source, container, etc) to re-find the article. (you did make a citation first, right?)
  • Make sure you're starting in the right place: the CCHS Library Website.  Googling for "Gale" or "Ebsco" or "SIRS" might not get you where you need to be.

After you've tried some of these options, if you are still having trouble...

Contact your Librarian. On any "Digital Learning Days" the Central Catholic High School Librarian will be reachable via email.  When you contact the librarian, please include the following information...

  • What database you tried to use
  • Where you found the password
  • How you tried to get to that database (a URL link is helpful)
  • What troubleshooting methods you have already tried.

CLICK HERE, or use the Link below to find the passwords. They are not posted directly on this page. You must  be Log-in to your CCHS email/gmail to access the Google Doc with the Passwords.