Professional Resources: Subscription Databases for Professional Development

What are Library Databases, and Why should you use them?

Library Databases are subscription collections  (i.e. things that we pay to access) of research sources including: Periodical (Magazine, Newspaper, Trade Journal, Scholarly Journal) articles, electronic Reference Books,  Images, Videos, Primary Documents and more.

They are not just for students! We have access to many professional development and continuing education resources as well, and if you're using our databases, you'll be better able to encourage student use.

So why do we pay for them when Google and the Web exist?

1. The vast majority of their content is NOT freely available elsewhere.  You can't find it on the web
2. All of the content comes from known, reputable, sources.  While you still need to evaluate what you read based on currency, bias, audience, purpose, type, etc.  You will always be able to identify the original source.  None of it is Fake, or intentionally misleading for economic or political gain. All of it has been through some sort of editorial process or oversight.
3. They offer additional features  that add value to the information including citation help, intentional selection and grouping of sources by topic, links to more related resources, easy google-drive access, powerful advanced search filtering, etc.

PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are on CANVAS

3 Tips for Using Databases Well

1. Look at all of the features.  They aren't just there to fill space. Most Databases have similar features, but may put them in a different place on the page, or call them something different.
   • ​​Are there options to "Save", "Email", or "Upload to "Drive"?
   • Does it give you pre-formatted citations for articles? (if so, are they accurate?!)
   • Is there a list of specific publications that are in the database?
   • Does it give you options to filter results
2. Use the ADVANCED SEARCH. This isn't google's one-search-box solution. You can to more powerful searches by being specific about what you want to search for, and where you want to search in the document, etc.
   • ALSO: Use filters to check narrow down your search results
   • Make use of the database's "search suggestions"
3. Use Good Search Strategies.  Databases are a powerful tool, but they're only powerful if you use them well, the same strategies  that fuel good Internet searches, work in databases.
   • Use multiple search terms.  Don't just search on your focus, search AROUND it as well.
   • Understand what kinds of sources you are finding, and what kind you are looking for.
   • Re-Search.  

PASSWORDS for using Databases from Home are on CANVAS

CLICK HERE, or use the Link below to find the passwords. They are not posted directly on this page. You must Log-in to CANVAS.